Lisbon Players | 70 years! Play on

The Lisbon Players

 invites you to/convida-o ao

70 years! Play on

A celebration of our 70th anniversary

A celebração do nosso 70º aniversário

July 1st, 2017 / 1 de Julho de 2017

at Estrela Hall

Celebration Timeline

14:30          Doors open / Portas abertas

15:00          Celebratory cake cutting & Cava / Bolo de aniversário & espumante

16:00-17.00 Live on-stage / Entretenimento PLAY ON! AN ENTERTAINMENT

18:00-19:00 A walk back in time (interactive session) / Uma viagem pelo passado

20:00-21:00 A repeat showing Live on-stage / Entretenimento PLAY ON! AN ENTERTAINMENT

21:00-23:00 Party with refreshments / Festa


Entrance to this event is free, but seating for the live on-stage entertainment is limited.

So book your seats now by mailing us at specifying the session of live entertainment you would like to watch (16.00 or 20.00 hrs).

Here is a wee glimpse of what we have in store for you on-stage…

Read the rest of this entry »

Much Ado About Nothing

Only until 24th June!

by William Shakespeare

Director: Rafaela Lacerda
Designer: Alexandra Bochmann

The war is over. Don Pedro of Aragon, with his followers Benedick, Claudio, and Don John, his bastard brother, visit Leonato, the governor of Messina, and father of Hero and uncle of Beatrice. Claudio falls in love with Hero and their marriage is agreed upon. Beatrice and Benedick despise love and engage in comic banter. The others plot to trick them to fall in love with each other. Meanwhile, Don John contrives a more malicious plot with the assistance of his follower Borachio: Claudio is led to believe that he has allegedly witnessed Hero in a compromising situation on the night before her wedding day.

Almost four and a half centuries later, mankind remains the same: the same issues, the same mischievous attitudes, the same romantic altercations…

Come witness all the fuss from June 8th — 24th, Thursday to Saturday at 9 p.m., with a Sunday matinee at 4 p.m. on the 18th.

Cast: Alex Peracaula, Alexander Wiss, Aly Shulika, Celia Williams, Cláudio Oliveira, Eduardo Ribeiro, Elizabeth Bochmann, Erik Spett, Joana Afonso, Jonathan Weightman, Keith Esher Davis, Mårten Jedehulth, Mick Greer, Patrick Ferroni, Philip Manley, Rhyanna Blakeley, Rui Vasco.

8th – 24th June at Estrela Hall
Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays at 21.00 (9 pm)
Sunday Matinee on 18th June at 16.00 (4 pm)

To book, please go to Reservations and fill in the form. 

Update on Estrela Hall

In May the Committee was invited by the Embassy to a meeting with the prospective buyer of the Estrela Site (who signed a promissory contract to buy in March 2016, which is still active).

Continuing our policy of keeping communication open with all parties involved, we accepted the invitation, and the director of Arquimelo, the property development company, explained aspects of their plans and showed us architectural drafts.

Other people and organisations with an interest in the Estrela Site, and influence on its future, will be shown these plans.

You may recall that the Assembleia Municipal and the Junta de Freguesia showed, in their vote early in 2016, that they hope to protect LP in Estrela Hall. There are also plans to create a Centro de Saúde on the site, and other organisations who wish to stay. Parking remains a local concern. With the Embassy, the prospective buyer, Junta de Freguesia, other stakeholders, and the Câmara Municipal (whose approval is indispensable), outcomes are hard to predict, though a slow process of decision making must be anticipated, which might be counted in years rather than months.

While it is a positive development that discussions take place on a possible future for the Estrela Site, and with Lisbon Players included in both the planning and in that future, we must stress that these are early days.

We would like members to know that the Committee continue hopeful of a good resolution, are taking legal advice, keep in touch with as many relevant people as possible, and will keep you informed if at some point major developments or decisions become imminent.

Our new 2017/18 committee and news of forthcoming celebrations

Dear Members and supporters,

First of all, many thanks to everyone who came to the AGM on Sunday 12th March.

The new structure for the 2016/17 committee, elected at the AGM, is as follows:

Cassandra Woolford (treasurer)
Colin Lee-Warden
Eduarda Sousa (secretary)
Elettra Sacchi
Elizabeth Bochmann
Joyce Jones
Katerina Karachaliou
Nicki Bailey
Peter Dawson
Stephen Bull (chairman)
Suresh Nampuri

Following the new organisation by departments created by the committee last year, we have assigned representatives of 4 main areas of interest, who can be contacted by you, as and when applicable, for any queries, suggestions or proposals:

Artistic department
Suresh Nampuri:

Operations department (day-to-day running)
Cassandra Woolford:

Estrela Hall Action department
Stephen Bull:

and a new department:
Press and Communication, will soon be formed. We have assigned people on the new committee for specific functions but will be seeking a person to take on the role of coordinating this area. For now, the contact person is Stephen Bull:

Please do not hesitate to contact us. Of course, if you are not sure of which department to  write to, you can still use and you can visit our website ( or our facebook page (

And, with our 70th birthday today (our first production opened on 29th March, 1947), we are planning our 70th Birthday Celebrations: 70 years! Play on.

More news soon.Elettra Sacchi

2016-2017 Season

season cover photo 16.17

2016 Timeline of Recent Events

To read more about recent events at Estrela Hall, click here to read our 2016 Timeline of Recent Events.

Tell us why you love The Lisbon Players

Why do you love the Lisbon Players? How and why is it important to you?

Tell us why we are invaluable to the Lisbon cultural scene in a short video (up to 1 min. long)!

Click here for more information and to watch some more of our videos….!

Like our Facebook Page!

The Lisbon Players now has its very own Facebook page. Please click ‘like’, to see and receive updates on our productions, events and news. Please also share with friends!